Letter of Support

I had no idea about Doncaster Council’s plans for its libraries until I read about your campaign on the BBC news website.

I would just like to add my own support. My own love of books was started by my mother but fostered by Miss Tansy who in the 1960s was librarian of the children’s library. You cannot underestimate the influence her enthusiasm for reading had on me – not to mention her giving children the opportunity to work behind the desk at the ‘Little Library’. (When the building was demolished – before the amalgamation of the libraries in the new Waterdale building – I took the last photograph of the library building on a large format glass plate camera while in the 6th form at Doncaster Grammar.)

The influence on me of the library service in Doncaster has been lifelong – you’ll find I’ve since ‘fed back’ into the system and written a good number of books about photography.

I would place the library at the heart of any society and keenly support your campaign.

Best regards,

David Prakel

This entry was posted in Update. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Letter of Support

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Letter of Support | -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

